College Houses

College Houses

College Houses

Bosco (Yellow)

St John Bosco (16 August 1815 – 31 January 1888), also known as Giovanni Melchiorre Bosco and Don Bosco, was the founder of the Salesian Society. He was born of poor parents in a little cabin at Becchi, a hill-side hamlet near Castelnuovo, Piedmont in Italy. He was declared Venerable by St Pius X on 21 July 1907, was beatified by Pius XI in 1929 and canonised on Easter Sunday in1934 at which time he was given the title, “Father and Teacher of Youth”.  His feast day is on 31 January.

Kolbe (Red)

St Maximilian Kolbe (8 January 1894 – 14 August 1941), also known as the “Apostle of Consecration to Mary,” was born Raymund Kolbe. He was a Polish Conventual Franciscan friar who founded the Immaculata movement devoted to Our Lady.  While imprisoned by the Nazis, he volunteered to die in place of a stranger (a husband and father), in the Auschwitz concentration camp of Poland where he was martyred.  His feast day is on 14 August.

Mannix (Green)

Daniel Patrick Mannix (4 March 1864 – 2 November 1963), an Irish-born Australian Catholic clergyman and Archbishop of Melbourne for forty-six years, was one of the most influential public figures in 20th century Australia.  Mannix was the son of a tenant farmer near Charleville, in County Cork, and was educated at Irish Christian Brothers’ schools and at St Patrick’s College, Maynooth Seminary, where he was ordained priest in 1890. 

MacKillop (Blue)

Mary Helen MacKillop (15 January 1842 – 8 August 1909), also known as Saint Mary of the Cross, was an Australian nun who, together with Father Julian Tenison Woods, founded the Sisters of St Joseph of the Sacred Heart and a number of schools and welfare institutions throughout Australasia with an emphasis on education for the poor, particularly in country areas. Since her death she has attracted much veneration within Australia as a symbol of the strength of the early Catholic Church.  She is the only Australian to be recognised by the Church as a saint. Her feast day is on 8 August.